By Esau McCaulley

GAFCON 2018 will include the first gathering of the “GAFCON synod.” GAFCON has previously been led by a primatial council consisting of the leaders of GAFCON provinces with the assistance of a general secretary and his office in London.

The newly created synod will consist of three members from each province and fellowship of GAFCON. A fellowship is a gathering of laity, churches, and/or dioceses in provinces of the Anglican Communion that have not joined GAFCON. Its remit will be to provide a council of advice to the Primates’ Council.

GAFCON also announced the creation of nine networks that will assist joint ministry across its member provinces. These networks include church planting, theological education, bishops’ training, women’s ministry, youth and children, global mission partnerships, intercessory prayer, a lawyers’ task force, and sustainable development.



About The Author

The Rev. Esau McCaulley, PhD currently serves as assistant professor of New Testament at Wheaton College in Wheaton, IL. He is one of the co-founders of Call and Response Ministries, an organization dedicated to creating events and materials that equip black Christian leaders and those who support them for effective ministry.


Related Posts

2 Responses

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.